Astonishing young violinist


Stephen Waarts at age 1312-year-old prodigy (now 13) Stephen Waarts mesmerized and astounded our audience this past November 15, 2008 playing the Tchaikovsky “Violin Concerto.”  One week after our concert he made his Carnegie Hall debut.  Since then he has appeared with the Kostroma Symphony Orchestra with conductor Pavel Gershtein conducting at Moscow State University for the “Moscow Meets Friends Festival.”  He recently won top prize in the Youth Division of the KDFC Classical Star Search.  We have invited him for a return engagement to play the magnificent and fiendishly difficult Brahms “Violin Concerto.”  This evening is perfect for children (of all ages).  Maestro Gibson will give a mini-conducting lesson and choose 3 or 4 children to conduct the orchestra during the Time for Young Musicians -- an extremely popular and eye popping experience.   Get your tickets early to get a good seat (or any seat at all).

Return of the Prodigy by Katja Battarbee

Artwork by
Katja Battarbee

Return of the Prodigy
Friday 12 March 2010: 7:30 pm
    Venue:  Holy Trinity Episcopal Church
     Map:     330 Ravenswood Avenue, Menlo Park, CA 94025

Saturday 13 March 2010: 7:30 pm
     Venue:  Presbyterian Church of Los Gatos

      Map:    16575 Shannon Road, Los Gatos, CA 95032

Ludwig van Beethoven:  Egmont Overture, Op. 84

Antonín Dvořák:  Slavonic Dances (arranged to simulate a  Symphony)

  1. No. 1 in C Major, Op. 46: Presto
  2. No. 2 in E Minor, Op. 72: Allegretto grazioso
  3. No. 4 in F Major, Op. 46: Tempo di Minuetto
  4. No. 7 in C Major, Op. 72:  Allegro vivace

Rossini:  Finale to William Tell Overture
             Time for Young Musicians - Conducting Lessons
              Children chosen to conduct the orchestra


Stephen Waarts in Russia

Stephen Waarts

Johannes Brahms

     Violin Concerto in D Major,  Op. 77

             Stephen Waarts, Violin Soloist

  1. Allegro non troppo
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo vivace
Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven

Antonin Dvorak

Antonín Dvořák

Gioacchino Rossini

Gioacchino Rossini

Johannes Brahms

Johannes Brahms


Web Design by BACH to Music © 2011
© Copyright 2010 Silicon Valley Symphony  All rights reserved.